Friday, June 24, 2011

Joey Samson is Yahoo OMG Awards' Designer of the Year

The first 'Yahoo! OMG! Awards' purple carpet event happened last Tuesday, June 21, at the Republiq, Resorts World Manila where Yahoo! announced the winners of the OMG! Awards (

Hosted by JM Rodriguez and Andi Manzano, the event was filled with an awesome crowd consisting of the Yahoo! bodies, Filipino celebrities, businessmen/women, and models. Top local performers including Someday Dream, Johnhoy Danao and Up Dharma Down played their music for the guests as well.

OMG! Awards is a direct response to the increasing popularity of Yahoo!’s entertainment site which was launched in March this year and has quickly grown to become the number one property in the Philippines. consists of the latest news on the local and global entertainment scene receives 682,000 unique visitors per month...To determine the winners in each category, our editors will do a through trend analysis by assessing the percentage increase in the online searches to identify the most-searched Filipino celebrities. From this short-list, readers will be asked to vote for their favorite,” stated Erwin Lemuel Olivia, Country Editor, Philippines.
Yahoo! OMG Awards Purple Fashion Show
Before the announcement of Designer of the Year, noted fashion designers Joey Samson, Jun Escario, and Kate Torralba presented a purple themed fashion show.

Joey Samson is Yahoo! OMG Awards Designer of the Year

Designer of the Year Joey Samson is a "master in designing fashion that emphasizes on flawless lines, topnatch materials, and ideal body fit."

Here is a complete list of Yahoo! OMG Categories and Winners:
Hottest actor: Piolo Pascual
Hottest Actress: Jennylyn Mercado
Funniest Comedian: Vice Ganda
Funniest Comedienne: Eugene Domingo
Breakthrough artist – Male: Coco Martin
Breakthrough artist – Female: Cristine Reyes
Awesome young actor: Albie Casino
Awesome young actress: Kathryn Bernardo
Favorite TV host – Male: Luis Manzano
Favorite TV host – Female: Toni Gonzaga
Amazing newcomer – Male: Alden Richards
Amazing newcomer – Female: Ritz Azul
Coolest singer – Male: Christian Bautista
Coolest singer – Female: Charice
Coolest band: Parokya ni Edgar
Designer of the Year: Joey Samson

Bela Padilla, Kathryn Bernardo, Bea Binene
Alodia Gosiengfiao, Divine Lee, Lauren Young, Sam Pinto
Special Awards:

OMG! Celebrity of the Year – Shalani Soledad
OMG! Major Impact – Shamcey Supsup
CLEAR Man Award – Piolo Pascual
CLEAR Woman Award – Sam Pinto
Sunsilk Award – Alodia Gosiengfiao
Wi-Tribe Award – Somedaydream
Pond’s Natural Beauty – Shamcey Supsup
Most Animated Celebrity of the Night – Barbie Forteza
Most Watched Celebrity of the Night – Marc Nelson
Sweetest Couple of the Night – Victor Basa and Divine Lee

Alodia GosengfiaoCosplay Queen” lived blog from the event scene while DJ Chris Myk hosted the after hour party. The Awards show was presented by Wi-Tribe and sponsored by Ponds, Sunsilk and Clear. In a true celebrity style, OMG! Icons were escorted in lixury cars provided by Jaguar and Land Rover while the official beverage was sponsored by Pernord Ricard, producer and distributor of premium wines and spirits.

Congratulations to Designer of the Year Joey Samson! The Yahoo! OMG! Awards was an OMG night indeed!

*Contributed by Shekinah Armenta ('Search for the Blogger Apprentice' participant).

No comments:

Post a Comment